After long years there is good news for cricket fans all around the world. Bygone legends like Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, and Brett Lee are returning to play the Road Safety World Series that will be held in the stadiums of Pune and Mumbai. The cricket legends who have proved their mantle in the game in their yesteryears will feature in this cricket tournament.

I’m sure you would have heard about this before. And so we have covered all the details for you here so that you don’t miss any game.

Road Safety World Series 2020

The Maharashtra government’s Road Safety Department and the Professional Management Group are organizing a T20 cricket league that will feature a total of five teams that will compete against each other in 11 matches. The series will start on 7th March and the final will be played on 22 March in Mumbai.

The tournament’s announcement was made at an event in Mumbai. The series aims to promote road safety worldwide.

Teams for Road Safety World Series

A total of five teams will be playing the tournament. Legends from different countries are coming together to form these teams. Following are the teams will be participating in the Road Safety World Series competition of 2020-

  • India Legends
  • South Africa Legends
  • Australia Legends
  • West Indies Legends
  • Sri Lanka Legends

Road Safety World Series- Captains and Complete Squad

To participate in the World Series for this noble cause a total of 110 payers have agreed. The five teams will be led by five world-class retired cricket players. At the mega launch of the event, all the five captains were present along with some other known players. Indian Legends will be led by Sachin Tendulkar, while Brian Lara will represent West Indies Legends. The captain of Australia Legends will be Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes will lead the South African Legends team and lastly, Sri Lanka Legends will be led by Tilakaratne Dilshan.      

Also, Sunil Gavaskar and Virendra Sehwag attended the launch event who will be the commissioner of the tournament. The complete squad of all the teams is not yet known, but the Indian Legends Squad is final. The team includes-

Sachin Tendulkar (C), Virender Sehwag, Sameer Dighe (WK), Yuvraj Singh,  Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Bangar, Mohammad Kaif, Munaf Patel, Pragyan Ojha, and Sairaj Bahutule.

Unacademy Road Safety World Series Schedule

Both BCCI and ICC have given No Objection Certificate to the tournament after which the complete schedule of the series was released.

Match 1: India Legends vs West Indies Legends
March 7, 2020
Wankhede (Mumbai)

Match 2: Australia Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends
March 8, 2020
Wankhede (Mumbai)

Match 3: India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends
March 10, 2020
DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 4: West Indies Legends vs South Africa Legends
March 11, 2020
DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 5: South Africa Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends
March 13, 2020
DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 6: India Legends vs South Africa Legends
March 14, 2020
MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 7: Australia Legends vs West Indies Legends
March 16, 2020
MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 8: West Indies Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends
March 17, 2020
MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 9: Australia Legends vs South Africa Legends
March 19, 2020
DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 10: India Legends vs Australia Legends
March 20, 2020
MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 11: FINAL (TBC vs TBC)
March 22, 2020
Brabourne Stadium (CCI, Mumbai)

Road Safety World Series Tournament- Live Streaming Details

The official broadcasting partner of the series is Viacom 18. And so you can tune into to either Colors Cineplex or Coors Kannada Cinema to watch live streaming of the matches. The online live streaming is available on the official app and website of Jio TV and on Voot as well.

Wrapping Up

Some of the biggest names in the Cricket world are going to play the series. I’m sure that you would be equally excited to see your favorite players on the field once again.


Previous articleThe Outsider Season 1 Episode 8 Spoilers| In the Pines, In the Pines Recap
Next articleThe Good Doctor Season 3 Episode 16 Spoilers| Episode 15 “Unsaid” Recap