There is no doubt that Amazon is the biggest eCommerce website out there. Even Amazon is not only letting you shop online. In fact, it offers you various other services, for example, Kindle, Amazon Music, Prime Video, and others. But there are some users who might want to delete their Amazon account. So the question is how to delete an Amazon account?
Well, in this article, I will be answering this question only. Deleting your Amazon account is not as complicated as it seems.
But in case if you cannot find the delete option on your Amazon account, then below are all the steps that you have to follow.
So here we go:
Why delete Amazon?
There are quite a lot of reasons why you might want to delete your Amazon account. Maybe you no longer wish to use Amazon for shopping online.
Or you simply want to remove your sensitive information like address, financial information from the internet, or it can be any other reason.
What happens when you delete your Amazon account?
Before you go ahead and delete your Amazon account, you should know that there are quite a lot of services connected to your Amazon. So if you choose to delete your Amazon account, you will simply lose access to all the services offered by Amazon and its digital content.
So when you choose to delete your account, the Amazon customer service team will send you an email with detailed information on what will happen if you delete your account. So it would be a good idea to go through the list of services before you make the final call.
However, here is a quick overview of all the things that you will lose access to:
- It will delete your Amazon accounts, including Audible.com and accounts on different country domains like Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de., Amazon.in, and others.
- You will lose access to digital content linked to your account. This includes digital content like ebook, music, amazon apps, prime videos.
- It will block your access to Amazon gift cards or other vouchers. So you won’t be able to use them.
- It will not let you refund or return any items you have purchased from Amazon.
- By deleting your Amazon account, you will lose access to your Amazon order history.
- It will also prevent you from making any sort of textbook rental return requests. But you will still be held accountable for any rentals you have done.
- You will lose access to content in your games and software library.
- All your reviews, posts, and other social content will also get removed from Amazon.
Can I reopen a closed Amazon account?
So after deleting your Amazon account, will you be able to reactivate or reopen it? The answer is no. You won’t be able to access your account or review any of your personal information like purchase history, invoices, and others.
As a result, you will need to create a new account, and then you will be able to use Amazon. So if you do understand the risk involved, you can go ahead and follow the below steps to delete Amazon account:
How to Delete Amazon Account?
- First of all, go to the Close Your Amazon account page.
- Then sign in with your Amazon account that you want to close.
- Next, scroll down to the bottom of the page and choose the reason for closing your Amazon account using the drop-down menu.
- Then, you have to place a tick next to the “Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon account and delete my data” option.
- After that, click on the Close my Account button.
- Next, Amazon will send you a link via email or a text message to confirm your account.
- Simply confirm your account using the link you have received in your email or text, and your account will get deleted permanently.
So that was all the steps that you have to follow for the how to delete Amazon account question. Now it is your call to go ahead and try out the steps by yourself and see if they are working for you or not.